Key Stage 4 programme

Students in Year 10 and 11 study core subjects alongside additional GCSE subjects and BTEC qualifications:

Subject Specific Curriculum Details

To obtain additional information on the curriculum please contact: or visit our Supporting Success page.

Exam boards

Subject Exam board
English GCSE AQA
Science GCSE Edexcel
Computer Science GCSE AQA
Geography GCSE Edexcel
Product Design GCSE AQA
Level 2 Applied Science (BTEC) Edexcel
Level 2 Engineering OCR
Astronomy GCSE Edexcel
Psychology GCSE AQA

Specialist options

Science and engineering is at the heart of UTC Oxfordshire, so our GCSEs and specialist studies link closely together. They both benefit from the practical expertise and real work projects that our industry and university partners bring.

At Key Stage 4, the specialist qualification is a BTEC First Extended Certificate or Cambridge National Qualification.These qualifications are the initial step on the ladder of modular courses that are based on learning by doing and which lead on to both apprenticeships and higher education. They have recently been updated to match the latest government requirements on rigorous standards.

Students learn through a combination of units, some of which are internally assessed while others are externally examined. The qualification title and modules will depend on which specialism you choose.

At Key Stage 4 students:

  • learn predominately through tutor-led seminars
  • develop effective individual learning techniques
  • experience working life with our employer sponsors
  • be encouraged to set ambitious career goals
  • practice what they have learnt on real-life projects

Creativity and enterprise / Non-examined enrichment options:

Employability skills delivered through employer-led projects

Student Destinations